Archaeological Park of San agustín (Spanish Parque Arqueológico de San Agustín ) is one of the most important archaeological sites in Colombia (South America), located 2.5 km from the town of Popayan, on the banks of the Magdalena river. Park San Agustín. Included in the world Heritage list of UNESCO.
San agustín is located in 227 km from the capital of the Department Neiva. The population is about 30 000 people the city was Originally founded as a village in 1752 by Alejo the Spaniard Astudillo, but the Indians soon destroyed it. The modern village was founded in 1790 by Lucas de Erazo-and-Mandhana.
In the area found traces of one of the most interesting civilizations of the Western hemisphere. Not far from San Agustin, at an altitude of 1800 meters at the source of the Magdalena river, in the cave found a large number of stone figures, vaguely reminiscent of the statue of the era of the Aztec Empire. Today in the Valley of the statues found more than 500 giant statues of people, gods and animals. They are scattered in more than 20 places in the forest, completely overgrown with orchids, the valley of the river Magdalena. Carved stone figures look at the background of this landscape is bleak and aloof. Sculptures of gods and mythological characters made in different styles and date back to different centuries. The height of some reaches 6 meters. Since espansione fray Juan de Santa Gertrudis in 1794 first reported about these giants, historians and archaeologists wonder about their origin and age. Some believe that they originated in the VI century BC, others are inclined to a later Dating, relating these works to the culture, destroyed by the Incas shortly before the Spanish conquest, they have a certain resemblance with the famous stone idols of Easter island. Continue reading
Crete is not only warm sea, clean beaches, tasty food, nature and interesting traditions. Crete is a unique story of civilization, which is already for the ancient Greeks was a legend, written language which is still not fully deciphered, and about the causes of death which can only make assumptions. That’s about it, the English archaeologist sir Arthur Evans said: “I opened a civilization unlike any Greek or Roman” and was named after the legendary king Minos, the Minoan. Traces of the Minoan civilization on Crete can be found at every step. In almost every coastal village has its own Villa, or disposing of left over from that mysterious era. But the most significant monuments of the Minoan palaces. Four. And one of them is the Palace of Knossos – where as predpolagaet and dwelt the mythical Minotaur from the myth Theseus and Ariadne. This air propitannym secret and legends, are also worth a visit the island of the Minotaur. Crete has carried more than Three or the Parthenon. Treasures and monuments found during the excavations have not been looted or taken out of Greece. You can see in archeological museums in Crete, but the largest and one of the most important archaeological museums in Europe – the archaeological Museum of Iraklion. The Museum has a unique kollekcionirovanie art Minojskoj era, and the Museum is therefore rightly called a Museum of Minoan culture. In 2002 the Museum began a complete reconstruction. After 10 years of reconstruction, opened 2 permanent exhibition hall (the hall of sculpture and Minoan frescoes). The entrance to them is free. It is about the unique frescoes, fragments of which were found during excavation of villas and palaces on Crete will be discussed.
When it comes to the Knossos Palace, it is assumed that most of the Palace was decorated with frescoes depicting nature, animals, sacred rituals. For 3500 years, who studied with the time, survived not so much, but even on these fragments it is possible to get an idea looked like the Cretans of the age of Minos. Boy, prekrasny like a flower in the end of the year has to die to get back – “Prince with the lilies”. Continue reading
Few people know that on the territory of Rostov region is true… Greek city! More precisely its excavations, what was left of it. The city of Tanais (Greek Tape and Tape), founded in the early 3rd century BC by the Greeks from the Bosporan Kingdom. The town played an important role in the development of trade by sea.
Excavations of the ancient Greek city of Tanais, Rostov region
Who has not lived on this earth: the Scythians, the Amazons, the Greeks, the Venetians, the Polovtsian tribes and of course we, Russians.But, everything in order.
A little more than a couple of millennia ago, judging by the notes, Greco-Roman historians, on the don land inhabited by beautiful Amazons. They tilled the soil, and when it was time of war — take up arms. In order to freely own weapons, poor women even burned their right breast (to make it easier to throw a spear). In those days the river don was called Amazonia. One day, Amazon Lizippa and warrior Barossa was born the son of Tanais. The boy grew up and turned into a beautiful ,young man with impeccably owned weapons and different martial arts. To devote his life to the military art Tanais took chastity. Meanwhile, the goddess of love, Venus, fell in love with a young boy. It — zero attention. Wounded goddess punished Tanais love for his mother. The guy failed the test, and threw himself from a high hill into the river. Since then, the river was named “Tanais”. And then, in the name of the river, and called the City.
So, one Sunny summer day by car from Rostov-on-don, we went to the adventure “back in time”. Narrow highway Rostov-Taganrog, poplar along roads and hot, hot..Not far from the city of Taganrog turned the direction of Tanais, which is impossible to pass. Continue reading